This is Life 101 - Required re4ading for EVERYONE with a pulse., February 14, 2007
 
Reviewer: Robert Fleege "fleege.com" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   

What a great book. You will love the authors connection through his creative and easy to understand language. You get the feel throughout that the author doesnt try to impress you but rather provide honest advice based on both experience and research. No doubt, hands down the best and most enjoyable financial book available. The value of this book over a lifetime is immeasurable. Thank you.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)


 


 

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Public schools should pass these out before Math texts!, April 23, 2006
 

Reviewer: M. Smith "NE NY farmer" (Champlain Valley, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   

I picked this book up at the library and did take my time over it (renewed once) but that is after reading the first few main chapters. Ane reading other stuff inbetween. It IS easy to become more financially set. To save money, live with a reasonably priced car and house (below your "means") and bank the differences. Short term deferment results in long term gain, don't keep up with the Joneses. Timeless quotes are given from experts through history. Humor makes this a good read.

Basic math classes in our public schools would do us a world of good if they just taught these basic concepts!!! But it took me to age 40 (like the author) to learn this. Do I really need all this junk in my life?

Definitely a good graduation present for any young person -- if they read it. I know in my head that putting a little away each pay will add up, but it is that immediate gratification that can ruin such a plan. Any intelligent person will see the basic, logical reasoning given here. I hope people can be persuaded to put it into practice. Yes, you can cut up your credit cards, or at least pay them off monthly. Thank you for a great book! P.S. Buying this on the gooddebt website will give a donation to childrens' autism research.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)


 


 

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Good Debt, Bad Debt, September 29, 2005
 

Reviewer: J. Johnson (Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   

I really enjoyed this book. It has a lot of eye opening information in it and walks you through step by step. This book really makes you stop and think about all aspects of your life and where you've been and where you're going and where you want to be. We all have to start somewhere and sooner is most definitely better but we can all still do it.

I will be purchasing a couple copies of this book to give to my sister, who is recently divorced, and my future daughter-in-law. I feel that it is something that should be passed along.

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)


 

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overlong and Overwritten. The message is good., September 7, 2005
 

Reviewer: Ronald L. Starr (Oakland, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   

While I strongly agree with the message of this book, I cannot recommend it. The theme of the book is that you need to save part of your income and invest it to create wealth for your old age. This agrees with the research in the book "The Millionaire Next Door," cited by Mr. Hanson. That book, through personal interviews, shows that most self-made multimillionaires lived on part of their income and invested the rest for high return.

The main weaknesses of "Good Debt, Bad Debt" are repetitiveness and overwriting. The author Jon Hanson says he wanted to be an author for many years. When he told this to an English teacher, he says she laughed uproariously. He would have done well to have called her in to help with the volume. The book could be, in my judgment, about one-third as long with judicious editing and still convey most of the information contained. I found it hard to read the last one-third. Also, the author self-consciously and seemingly proudly coins new words and phrase, as well as "10 second lessons."

The writing itself is clear and there are very few typos.

The message is fine: reduce your consuming-being in the "consumerati"-and then invest, with real estate being favored. The author also shares some of his personal history, including his own weakness in following this advice. There are some brief descriptions of people who have good and poor savings patterns. I'd like to see more-detailed case histories of people who changed from poor to good financial management and the results. Because of the repetitions, some readers might find some ways of saying things a little clearer than others.

Overall, while I like the message, I don't recommend reading this book to get it.

Oh, why does my review different from earlier ones? I feel this author got shills to give him excellent reviews which, in my view, are not deserved. Only one of the four other reviewers have reviewed other books than this one. And two of the three apparently shill reviewers are in the same state as the author, suggesting people who know him. So, I recommend you ignore earlier reviews.


 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)


 


 

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

a great financial AND "spiritual" guide - GET IT!, February 28, 2005
 

Reviewer: Sandy Feder "America's Education Coach (tm)" (New York City!) - See all my reviews

first of all, EVERYONE can use this advice - I think the debt load in America averages about $8,000 for each and every adult in this country! Hanson's book is awesome: it injects a little (much-needed) humor into one of the most depressing and stress-inducing problems in the world: DEBT! The "math" part of eliminating bad debt is easy, but getting a grip on the difference b/n good debt and bad debt - and then feeling strong and confident enough to actually do something about it - are areas where most of us fall short. Jon Hanson will definitely give you a kick in the butt, and will make you smile AND think! He's taken the best lessons from Rich Dad, Automatic Millionaire, and a few other best-of-breed books and gone one step further: his book is actually FUN! Definitely get it, and start climbing out of bad debt today - don't wait!

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)


 


 

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

THIS IS LIFE CHANGING MATERIAL, February 23, 2005
 

Reviewer: Tracy (Ohio) - See all my reviews

Twenty years ago I had the opportunity to hear Jon Hanson speak. His 20 minute presentation helped set a financial course for the comfortable lifestyle I enjoy today. I am thrilled that Jon Hansons philosophies are finally in print. By following the principals in his book you will be well on your way to a life of financial independence.


 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)


 


 

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Great book, must read for anyone... well Anyone at all., January 22, 2005
 

Reviewer: T. LaDuca (Ottowa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   

First of all I don't own this book. I just skimmed through it today at a brick and mortar store. I was very pleased to see some one had written down many of life's lessons that I've been learning the hard way. I make $35k a year and feel like a slave. And that I am, a slave to my past spending habits. Fortunately I am only 29.

Despite the fact that I've already learned the hard way many of the lessons in this book, I still really enjoyed it as it confirmed many of the observations I've made about where my spending habits came from and the criticisms/cynicisms that I've formed of the advertising industry and our consumer culture in general. He uses great imagery, a rare and invaluable talent. Yes, we are very much like cows being milked for all we're worth by greedy executives. However we are not really cows, so we have a choice of whether to be milked or not.

I only regret that the author did not realize these insights 10 years ago (before I had entered the job market). But such is life! There is a lot in here that is central to the pursuit of hapiness, which I gather many people, like me, have backwards. I am defintely one of the people whom he identifies in the book whose possesions own the person instead of the other way around.

Perhaps it is a little too revealing as I put it back on the shelf after skimming it, knowing that it would still be there whenever I decide I want to part with some cash to give it a permanent space on my own personal bookshelf. (I say that toungue in cheek)

 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)


 


 

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Best Personal "How To" Book I've Ever Read!, January 3, 2005
 

Reviewer: Melissa (Ohio) - See all my reviews

Bought Jon's book on Friday and read it this weekend, cover to cover. What a gift he has! I absolutely loved it. I only wish this book had come out years ago. There are so many concepts that I am going to put into practice to better my financial position.

I'm going to buy two more copies: one for my daughter and one for her fiance (since they're not in the same town right now) with the instructions to read it from cover to cover and then talk . . . alot. I don't want them making the same financial mistakes I made and already I see that happening. Part of the "me now, right now" generation!


 Comment | Was this review helpful to you?  YesNo (Report this)